The Sweet Hereafter
New Line Platinum Series
Country of Origin: Canada
Production year: 1997
Director: Atom Egoyan
Rating: Rating
UPC [Locale]: 794043-465420
Running time: 1:52 (112 Min.)
Casetype: Snapper
Format: NTSC, 2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen
DVD-Format: Single-Sided, Double-Layered
Released: May 26, 1998
Collection type: Owned (#1347)
Status: Available
Purchase date: May 15, 2005
Purchase price: Hidden
Review (movie): 10 / 10
Review (video): 9 / 10
Following a tragic schoolbus accident, high-profile lawyer Mitchell Stephens (Ian Holm, The Fifth Element, The Madness of King George) descends upon a small town. With promises of retribution and a class-action lawsuit filed on behalf of the grieving community, Stephens begins his investigation into the details of the crash. But beneath the town's calm, he uncovers a tangled web of lies, deceit and forbidden desires that mirrors his own troubled personal life. Gradually, we learn that Stephens has his own agenda, and that everyone has secrets to keep.

Through a skillful weaving of past and present, acclaimed director Atom Egoyan (Exotica, The Adjuster) examines the nature of the human spirit and its capacity for grief, loss and ultimately, redemption. Nominated for two Academy Awards® (1997 Best Director, Best Adapted Screenplay).
DVD Covers
The Sweet Hereafter
The Sweet Hereafter
 • Profile Contributors
 • Invelos Profile Links
 • US IMDb
Production Studios:
 • Fine Line Features
 • Alliance Communications
 • Ego Film Arts
Media Companies:
 • New Line Home Video
Audio format
English  Dolby Digital 5.1
French  Dolby Digital 5.1
Commentary  Dolby Digital 2-Channel Stereo
Music Only  Dolby Digital 5.1
# Description A B DS DL A DL B
1Main Feature
 • Scene Access
 • Feature Trailers
 • Featurettes
 • Commentary
 • Production Notes/Bios
 • Closed Captioned
 • Isolated Score
Easter Eggs
A rather unsuspecting hidden feature can be found in New Line Home Video's Platinum Edition of Atom Egoyan's masterpiece 'The Sweet Hereafter.'

It is very inobtrusively hidden in the menus of the disc, and it is audible. If you go to the disc's main menu, after about six seconds you will hear one of the hauntingly beautiful songs from the movie in its entirety. You can find even more of the romantic tracks in the disc's Special Feature menus the same way.
If you go there, after a few seconds you will hear other tracks from the film's soundtrack, isolated and in their full 5.1 Dolby Digital surround glory.
Atom Egoyan....Director
Atom Egoyan....Screenwriter
Russell Banks....Original Material By
Robert Lantos....Executive Producer
Andras Hamori....Executive Producer
Camelia Frieberg....Producer
Atom Egoyan....Producer
Paul Sarossy....Director of Photography
Film Editing
Susan Shipton....Film Editor
Mychael Danna....Composer
Sarah Polley....Composer
Sarah Polley....Song Writer
Steve Munro....Sound Designer
Ross Redfern....Production Sound Mixer
Daniel Pellerin....Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Peter Kelly....Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Keith Elliott....Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Phillip Barker....Production Designer
Kathleen Climie....Art Director
Ian Holm....Mitchell
Caerthan Banks....Zoe
Sarah Polley....Nicole
Tom McCamus....Sam
Gabrielle Rose....Dolores
Alberta Watson....Risa
Maury Chaykin....Wendell
Stephanie Morgenstern....Allison
Kirsten Kieferle....Stewardess
Arsinée Khanjian....Wanda
Earl Pastko....Hartley
Simon Baker....Bear
David Hemblen....Abbott
Bruce Greenwood....Billy
Sarah Rosen Fruitman....Jessica
Marc Donato....Mason
Devon Finn....Sean
Fides Krucker....Klara
Magdalena Sokoloski....Young Zoe
James D. Watts....Young Mitchell
Brooke Johnson....Mary
Allegra Denton....Jenny
Peter Donaldson....Schwartz
Russell Banks....Dr. Robeson
Mychael Danna....Live Band Harmonium Player (uncredited)